I haven’t been posting a lot lately. Been going through some rough times, challenges, and the like. But the beauty in hardship is that it turns the volume down on a lot of the noise we live with, clears the air for truth and clarity to come forward.

And I’ve come to the conclusion that Life is like riding a motorcycle. A lot of people will sit there and tell you scary story after scary story of terrible accidents where someone got horrifically killed/maimed/whatever. A lot of people will berate you for not wearing full body armor when you ride. A lot of people will condemn you for riding at all because it’s not “safe” like a car.

But that’s not what life is about.

Sure, manage your risks. When I choose to ride, I wear a full-face helmet, a leather jacket, and gloves. Other risks you learn to accept. When I choose to ride, I fully accept that I could get T-boned and squashed by some yo-yo “cager” (car driver) on a cell-phone. I fully accept that I could lose more than just skin or body parts; there’s a reason why people call them “donor-cycles,” after all. When I sit on that bike and hear the rev of that engine as I’m pulling out of the driveway, I understand it could very well be my last ride.

But none of that should ever spoil the experience.

Trust, innocence, openness, LIFE… it’s exactly the same. Yes, go into it with “eyes wide open,” do what you are comfortable with in terms of risk-management… but don’t let the maybes, the what-ifs, the negative possibilities ruin the experience. Don’t let it mar the feeling of the sun on your face and the wind against your chest and the feeling of flying in your heart.

Because it’s those moments of pure, unadulterated JOY that make this whole thing called Living worthwhile. And at the end of the day, I’d rather have had a Life of Awesome, than 80-odd years of Life spent looking out through the bars of a cage.

Leave a Reply

