Life is good.

I’m getting the hang of this whole ‘motherhood’ thing, and I’m even managing to make some progress on projects of my own, namely my latest bit of research on women musicians in the Renaissance (for my Kingdom Bardic single entry this coming March). It’s quite a fascinating topic with all kinds of new research cropping up — we now know that women were not “seen but not heard” as was previously assumed… They were influential and active participants in music from patrons of the arts, to the more hands-on aspects of composition and performance.

I would love to develop a presentation on the topic for the likes of schools and libraries, featuring period music examples, but I don’t know that there would be a call for that type of thing. (think it is exceptionally important, however….) It sounds so silly, but do they even teach the Renaissance in schools any more or do they just gloss over it and its importance like they do so many historical subjects these days? And with the emphasis on ‘teaching to the test’ that teachers are forced to do, would there even be time in the syllabi for such a thing?

I’ve also been thinking about my next musical (audio!) project, and thinking it may well be time to do an album of period music, or at the very least, period-esque (think musical adaptations of courtly poetry or some such thing). I remain fascinated with the Lais of Marie de France… ‘lais‘ is indicative of ‘songs,’ but to my knowledge there are no surviving musical examples of her work.

Just an idea I’ve been batting around.

In the meantime, I am listening to a lot of music, and enjoying the time I have to catch up on musical things, even though I am frequently interrupted by a certain miniature Bard. 🙂 Whom, by the way, is growing crazily fast and occupying me in keeping up with his inner workings.

Every day is such a blessing, full as it is of family and music. ❤ My heart is lighter than it has been in a very, very long time.

Bryson2

Leave a Reply

