Orazio_Gentileschi_-_Lute_Player_-_WGA8589That’s the beautiful piece of late Renaissance art I have set for the header image on here. Granted, it was painted a bit out of the time for SCA purposes (1626), but depicts an Italian woman enjoying some quiet time with her lute.

Ever since I ran across that image, I’ve wanted to replicate it. In prep for the Kingdom Bardic competition, I sat down and sewed myself a new kirtle in the working-class (Italian, because their fashions look great on me) style. I finally had the opportunity, and my dear husband did me the honors of being my photographer:

LutePlayer 003

Granted, my kirtle is red, not mustard yellow (because, ICK, least favorite color!), and it’s got the fancier trim style on it (because Husband and I portray merchant/middle class), and I’m holding a guitar instead of a bowl-back lute… but HEY. I am exceptionally and well-pleased. 🙂

Leave a Reply

