Yesterday found my husband and myself in the company of our SCA friends at a lovely indoor event called “Feast of Fools” in the Barony of Wealdsmere. As I had wished for a low-key, almost non-existent birthday celebration this year, J and I opted to spend the day together in the company of our medievally friends.

It was wonderful. I got to watch my wonderful man fence, where he came away with another tournament win, I got to hang out and socialize with a bunch of fun people, and I got to do a bit of performing later in the day. I’d even got a goodly portion of my garb sewing done beforehand, and so I had the luxury of wearing my new kirtle and feeling good in it. 🙂

During the Bardic portion of the feast, I took the opportunity to present one of my pieces I have been preparing for the Kingdom Bardic Championship in two weeks. I chose the one that has been giving me the most challenge, my instrumental piece, and I’m glad I did, as I now have a much better idea if the things I need to work on.

I couldn’t figure out why I had such a case of nerves heading into performing this particular piece, until I realized that it has been a good eight years since I did a strictly instrumental solo. Possibly nine years. That is a very long time to go without having any kind of a recital, and I believe my subconscious was telling me that I felt vulnerable without my strumming and singing methods at my disposal. I plan to perform this piece frequently front of others starting tomorrow, in an effort to ease the sense of vulnerability that set my picking hand to shaking like a leaf in a windstorm.

I also learned, through experiencing the rare “performance jitters” which parts of his piece I need to practice more.

This is down to the wire, now, folks. This is where my years of performance experience come in: dissecting the parts of these songs to tease out the bugs, smooth the wrinkles, and knit the wonky parts back into a whole.

11 days.

2 thoughts on “Things to Work On

Leave a Reply

