The post-office lady and I have a great relationship. On days that I am at The Day Job, I see her at least twice a day, and while I am picking up or dropping off packages we chat it up. She has a wicked sense of humor, and her face is so expressive as she gets into her comedic tales. We have a blast.

The other day, I made my afternoon stop, and informed her very seriously that they needed some theme music instead of their standard doorbell ringer for when customers enter. We had a good laugh over the idea as she rang up my postage. “Ooohh, great idea! You should totally do something,” she laughed as I left.

The next morning, I did. It couldn’t have gone better. No one else was waiting at the counter, and so I slunk in and announced my presence with an emphatic “dun dun DUUUUUUUUNNNNN!”

She busted up laughing, and the gauntlet has been thrown: just how many snippets of theme music can I come up with?

So far, it’s been the typical fare of the Heroic Trumpets (“taa tata TAAAAAA!” complete with “heroic pose”), Ride of the Valkyries, and when I see her next it will be Darth Vader’s march. I can also pull out Indiana Jones, the Good/Bad/Ugly, Chariots of Fire, and Beethoven’s Ninth, but you tell me:

What other theme music shall I use?

2 thoughts on “Theme music

  1. I love this kind of quirkiness, it’s nice to know I’m not alone! 😀

    I suggest you continue with the magician’s ‘TADAAAA!!’ or go completely crazy with The Pink Panther, Inspector Gadget, The Simpsons, The A Team or Mission Impossible (where you can sneak up to the counter all ‘spylike’ :-))

    Have fun!
    An

Leave a Reply

