I have one of the sad guitars playing and she’s not so sad anymore.

Lola 002

Everyone, this is Lola (because every classical guitar, the instrument of Spain, deserves a Spanish-esque name):

Lola 001

I am well-pleased. I ‘listened’ to what the instrument needed, listened to what my hands told me to do, and after a near-all-nighter of sanding and tweaking, I ended up with a nicely playable instrument. Perfect action, perfect intonation at the 12th fret. It does have a minor buzz somewhere in the bridge that I haven’t been able to pinpoint, but for an inexpensive guitar that was abused and then rescued, I really can’t complain.

Now, to get her sister fixed up. πŸ™‚ Unfortunately, I had to rob the tuning machines off the sister guitar to get Lola up and running, because people! There’s a reason steel strings DO NOT belong on a classical guitar — they eat up the gears on the tuning machines! So, I need to buy a few more parts. But that’s small potatoes — given how well Lola has responded to some TLC, I have no doubt her sister will do just as well. πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “Sad Guitars, part II

  1. What a lovely thing to do Heather. Really…many moons ago, I gave away an electric guitar I had to a playing musician, because I coudn’t bear the thought, of that poor guitar, just sitting in my house collecting dust. Years later, I started playing again, and bought an acoustic, but I still do not regret giving away the other because I know, it found a great home and is probably still being played.

    1. That’s exactly it, Alannah. Instruments need to be played. πŸ™‚ This one will definitely see some use by me, and I’m hoping that after I get the other one fixed up, I can find it a good home, too.

Leave a Reply

