So back in April or May sometime I sent in an application to the governing body of a major folk festival in the Tri-Cities area of Washington. I filled out the forms, cut an audition CD, and mailed it off. I thought “Why not?” with a shrug, and didn’t think too much more about it because I typically don’t get picked for things I want to do (Children’s Theater tryouts or Miss-Whatever type of scholarship talent shows, anyone?), but hey, the postage was cheap and it was a fun idea.

This last Friday I received a letter in the mail. Husband walks in the house with it in his hand. “I don’t know, but this feels a bit too heavy to be a rejection letter,” he said as he handed it over to me.

Can I just say HOLYJESUSPOO?!?

I have been selected as one of the festival performers for the 2013 Tumbleweed Music Festival as put on by the Three Rivers Folklife Society in Richland WA! I get a 45 minute set on the River stage on Sunday, Sept 1st, at 12:30pm. So come on down and say hello, buy a CD, or just give me a shoutout to any friends you have who may be attending. πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Tumbleweed 2013!

    1. Very! It’s a Huuuuuuge folk music festival. I guess it was a pretty intense selection process — the letter I got with my performance contract said they were having to turn people away, so if you don’t return your contract they give your slot to their next pick… :-O Which means I made the first cut! I’m so floored. Guess all those years of practicing paid off… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

