So, it’s been about three months, and I have to say this guitar is a workhorse. Absolutely no complaints so far — the craftsmanship is exceptional, the sound is exceptional, the playability is exceptional… Really, a GREAT guitar for the money.

I can honestly say that if you are looking for an instrument that will take whatever you throw at it and still perform, the APX 500II is the one you want. If you want an instrument that has a more balanced sound than the myriad dreadnoughts, try this guitar. If you have a shoulder injury like I do, or are small of stature and can’t hold a standard oversized instrument (did you know guitars keep getting bigger?), you want the APX. If you’re tired of having to get a custom setup job on every guitar you buy, and you just want one ready-to-play out of the box, get the APX.

I just can’t say it enough: this guitar is fantastic. Yamaha knows their stuff, and they got it right with this one. Five out of five stars… Hell, this guitar is an eleven out of ten.

Just my humble opinion. πŸ™‚

16 thoughts on “Follow-Up Review: Yamaha APX 500 II

    1. I love it! Mine has a lovely action straight from the factory so it’s easy on the fingers. It stays in tune like no other guitar I’ve ever seen. I highly recommend it. Definitely worth every penny.

    1. Personally, I wouldn’t go with a Dean (I’ve heard they have some quality control issues), but it all depends on what YOU like and what you’re looking for out of a guitar. And if the one you picked up happened to be a ‘diamond in the rough’ rather than a lemon (which goes without saying for ANY factory-produced instrument these days). If price is an issue (hate those budgets, haha) I can guarantee the Yamaha will last for years; they build their instruments like fricken tanks. So you’ll definitely get your dollars’ worth out of it. The Dean, maybe not so much — but there again, I only know what I’ve heard about them, so it could all just be taken with a grain of salt.

      You know, just to further cloud the issue… πŸ˜›

  1. Darn youuu! (shakes fist in air) that said, thank you. πŸ™‚ gonna stick with the Yamaha. I still fear I won’t be able to learn yet again, but def won’t if I don’t try πŸ™‚

      1. Nope, can’t say that I have. I had *thought* that the 700 was a standard depth model, but the specs I just looked at say it is a thin line as well. Not really sure what the differences are, except maybe nicer woods or something?

      2. Apparently wood top vs laminate, and slightly better acoustic electronics. One of those “I might not appreciate it now, but all pans out well, and I might appreciate the bump up later”.

      3. Dun dun dunnnnnn – went for the 700apx πŸ™‚ Thanks for your post on the 500 – helped me narrow things down πŸ™‚

        Few more musical questions if you wouldn’t mind πŸ™‚

        When you started learning to play guitar, did you take lessons? Did you already know any other instrument? Do you read music?

      4. Not at all! πŸ™‚ Ask away!

        I started my musical education at age five with piano. I am a largely self-taught musician, with the exception of piano and saxophone (which I minored in in college). I do read music, and for a long time was a “sheet snob,” meaning I thought reading music and learning the classical method was the ONLY way to learn… When I discovered folk music in high school, I had to change my tune! πŸ™‚ there are many, MANY ways to learn to play music; there is no ‘one-size-fits-all’ approach.

        My advice would be, (if you are asking! πŸ™‚ ) get an experienced player to definitely teach you the basics, since playing guitar well and comfortably is so, Sooo important and you don’t want to develop a bad habit that could harm you later. Where I lived when I was learning the guitar, there was a very active acoustic music community I could rely on for information/tips/help, so that’s where I went for help getting started. As far as the rest of it goes, it’s a personal decision. If you find you learn better having someone to be accountable to, definitely look for a teacher (check out my ‘Music Notes’ articles off the Serials page for one on how to find a good teacher). If you prefer to learn on your own, invest in a good book/DVD/CD to help. The beauty of it is, there is really no wrong way to start learning, no matter what people will tell you. As long as you realize and can honestly admit your weaknesses, and can follow-through with finding someone or some resource to help you address the issues you will encounter, you’ll do fine. πŸ™‚

  2. I personally would like to bookmark this specific
    post, β€œFollow-Up Review: Yamaha APX 500 II | Notes from a Musical Life” Roller Shade on my
    own website. Would you care in case Ido it? Many thanks -Marylou

Leave a Reply

