This week is National Suicide Prevention Week.

Much as I hate admitting it, I’ve been there. Been so close I could look over the edge. Thankfully, I had someone close enough to take my hand and help me step back. Unfortunately, not everyone struggling with depression is so lucky.

The saddest part about it is that helping isn’t hard. You just have to take off your blinders. You can’t go around stuck in a fantasy that life is perfect and everyone is fine — because the world is far from perfect, and many more people than you think are struggling. Yeah, it hurts to see and feel; it’s much more comfortable to hide behind a callous, ignorant exterior. But the thing is, until we stand up and truly connect with the people in our every day lives, this is going to keep happening.

Everyone deserves a little kindness. Everyone deserves to be acknowledged, to know they aren’t alone in this vast world. Sometimes it’s as simple as saying ‘hello’, or giving someone a compliment. Sometimes you don’t even have to say a word — just a smile to let them know you’ve seen them.

Sometimes that’s all it takes.

I would like to challenge you all to engage one person each day this week with something positive: a smile, a happy greeting, a little bit of conversation. Ask someone how they are doing — and mean it. Take an interest. You might surprise yourself by making a new friend.

You might save a life.

A Father's Tribute National Suicide Prevention Week is Sept 4-10. Back in April I wrote a blog about Alan Carter Villacruz-Curley, a young member of the Luna family that lost his battle with depression by taking his own life. His father, Jeff Curley, has formed Pick With Austin, a nonprofit charity organization that operates in Alan's memory to educate and elevate awareness about youth depression and suicide. Alan played a Luna Woodland Ash guitar. His father Jeff … Read More

via Luna Guitars' Blog

4 thoughts on “A Father’s Tribute (via Luna Guitars’ Blog)

  1. Nice to see your new blog, and glad I saw that reblog from Luna Guitars, strangely enough, I bought an acoustic only last week, and I’ve suffered from depression and been suicidal many times, so I understand the seriousness of this.

    1. I definitely think more people struggle with depression than anyone truly knows… And I think most of them don’t even say a word about it…

      Glad to see you here again, Alannah! 🙂 And I see you’ve been getting back into music yourself. Very cool! I wish you the best of luck. 🙂 Sounds a bit like our paths are kind of similar, only I decided to try writing after I got burned out of music in college… Last fall it came back to haunt me, too, and now I’m trying my hand at songwriting and absolutely LOVING it. 🙂

      Thank you for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

