It’s a lot harder than I remember.

When I was still in junior high, it was not unusual for me to memorize eight or ten or twelve pages of classical music at a time. It seemed to happen without me thinking about it — I’d be playing one minute and forget to turn the page… only to continue on without missing a beat. It’s a great habit to get into, because in my head, because when your notes and lyrics are memorized, when they’re in your head and in your body, you are better able to interact with your audience.

These days? It seems I’m lucky if I can remember what I had for dinner… Memorization still happens, but it happens… slooowwer.

I feel like smacking my brain and telling it to get with the program…!

Leave a Reply

