Nika arrived yesterday in PERFECT condition, which, after the black ook fiasco, I was very glad of! Musicians Friend gets another star in my book. Her strings are reeeeelly stretchy right now, but the totally sweet geared tuners are a dream. So far I’m very happy with her. Today her voice started opening up a little as the strings acclimatized, and I think she’ll sound just lovely in a few weeks.

AND THE ELECTRONICS WORK GREAT! 😀 Yeah, as soon as I got home, I plugged her into my amp and played rockstar Ook, lol.

My only gripe (and it’s very minor) with her is that she’s rather plain. So last night I concocted a very elaborate plan involving some Sharpies and creative energy…

Let me just say, Nika is plain no longer! 😀

2 thoughts on “Everyone, meet Nika

  1. Wow Heather, how COOL!!
    I’m so glad this one showed up in perfect condition. And your artwork looks wonderful. Have fun playing her.

    1. You and me both!! I was soooo relieved when I peeled open the package and saw nary a blemish. Hubby and I took the Eq/preamp unit off to check underneath and the installation hole was perfect, too. So, I’m very happy. 🙂

      The action is a bit higher than my Luna, and since Nika’s two full inches bigger, there’s a little adjusting for me going on, but I’m enjoying her a LOT. Having her be a little bigger (oddly) makes her easier to hold, too.

      And the art! hehe. 🙂 I was sooo chicken, I almost needed a shot of “liquid courage,” lol. It was fun experience, though. I did a couple drafts on saran wrap over top of the instrument to see what I wanted, then when I got one I liked, I used pencil to outline it on the face of the instrument. Hubby wisely advised I sleep on it before actually putting anything on her, which was good because my hand is steadier in the morning. I used sharpie (black for the grass, and then two shades of brown for the butterfly’s wings). No over coat — since the instrument had minimal lacquering, the sharpie appeared to soak into the wood. I don’t anticipate having to re-ink the design anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

