(I was a dork and stoked the furnace too much, and now I get to stay up to make sure things cool off alright. In the meantime, I finished a poem I had the idea for last week… And yes. I know it’s kind of hokey… :P)

Under the trees I wait for you
When the flowers are in bloom
And the birds are singing in the wood
Under the pine trees’ needly broom.

Under the trees I wait for you
When the sunshine touches the sky
Spreading warmth and heat with liberal hands
And when shade is hard to find.

Under the trees I wait for you
In the rains that come with Fall
And when frost licks the ruddy leaves
And branches are barren and tall.

Under the trees I’ll wait for you
As true love is wont to do
Because no matter the divide
Together one day we’ll bide…

But until then, I’ll wait for you.

2 thoughts on “Under the trees: another poem

  1. Okay. I read it to Hubby (who is notoriously unmoved by poetry) and he said “Awww…. I’m gonna cry! That’s so sweet!” *snifflesniffle* and so I suppose it’s not nearly as hokey as I feared!!

Leave a Reply

