This songwriting thing has kind of taken me by surprise… I never really intended to be a songwriter (I’m just a writer-writer). Honestly, I never really thought I could… but all of a sudden, my stories and things are coming to me in verse format, a flood of characterization and plot that I can’t really seem to stem (and really: do I want to?). 

So here’s my full disclaimer: This is an experiment. I’m going to be brave. I’m going to see if I can do this (several people, most notably my very wise and sage husband, have said that I can and I should, given my musical “genius” [their words]). I’m going to explore this new genre that my muse obviously is pushing me toward. I’m a firm believer that things in this world happen for a reason. It’s not exactly a secret that I’ve been increasingly dissatisfied and bored with my author-writing over the last year. Maybe this music and writing amalgamation is the next progression? I’m willing to find out.

This is a lyric that popped into my head one day after work that just seemed to come out of nowhere. I haven’t set a tune to it yet, but I hope to soon. 🙂

“All the Hardest Things”

Waking up after a tough all-nighter
To go to a job I can’t stand.
I’m pasting on a smile for all the liars,
Crossing the line in the sand.

Goodbye’s the hardest thing,
You’re the one I’m gonna miss.
Out of all the hardest things,
None compare to this.

Sitting in the kitchen figuring the rent;
Paycheck’s three days too late.
Fighting with the stove after repairman left,
And dinner’s burnt on the plate.

Goodbye’s the hardest thing,
You’re the one I’m gonna miss.
Out of all the hardest things,
None compare to this,
None compare to this.

I’m sifting through the memories
Standing here without you scares me
So I’m not letting go
The hardest thing is not letting you go

Goodbye’s the hardest thing,
You’re the one I’m gonna miss.
Out of all the hardest things,
None compare to this.
They don’t compare to this.

Standing here without you scares me…

One thought on “The Great Songwriting Experiment and All the Hardest Things… hopefully not related!

Leave a Reply

