It is so nice to be home. You never completely realize how much the little things count until they are absent.

BUT! I had a GREAT time! The Highlights:

  • Portland traffic is crazy. I wanted my motorcycle.
  • Got to meet fellow librarian and Echelon author, Amy Alessio. Wonderful lady!
  • The Oregon Convention Center has some really strange art. Like, really strange. I’ve got pictures.
  • I got to visit with my Dad, which was awesome. Saw “Rocky Horror Picture Show” (finally, I know!) with him, and we had fun talking cult flicks. I turned him on to “Army of Darkness.” Maybe next time we’ll be giggling about zombies and chainsaws and all of that outlandish geekery. 🙂
  • I have finally been in a hotel that did NOT have a 13th floor. Everybody’s been telling me that, but all the hotels I’ve been in had them. (Leave it to me, eh?) Now I’ve got picture proof.
  • I sat in on so many awesome programs/seminars for library work. I’m all a-fire with new ideas.
  • I also got a picture of a teen librarian crowd-surfing. Don’t tell me you didn’t think a librarian conference would be boring!?!
  • I have never seen so many vendors/exhibits in one building before.
  • I have also never had a robot talk to me before. And actually try to carry on a conversation. And pose for a picture. I don’t know how they did it and it’s killing me!
  • I have also never had so many booksellers just give books away. (i.e. “We don’t want to pack this back, so everything’s free.”) I left home with one bag. I returned with SIX.

Today I will spend puttering around the house, cuddling with the other half, and sorting through my loot. I might get some writing done. I might not.

I will probably dig out “Army of Darkness,” however. 😛

3 thoughts on “click your heels together three times…

  1. I’ve never been in a hotel without a 13th floor, either, but I’ve heard of them. That’s crazy! Glad you’re home, and that you had a great time. 🙂

    1. It’s good to be back! 🙂

      Mckenzie: Isn’t it, though? I gawked at the elevator panel for a while because I thought I was seeing things, lol.

      Slightlyignorant: I couldn’t BELIEVE they were just giving stuff away. I mean, with print taking such a nose-dive this last year in revenue, wouldn’t they want to try and SELL those copies??? Of course, free books at a library conference means more books in libraries and lots of good PR…

      I did have a fun trip. 🙂 But there’s no place like home, there’s no place like home…

Leave a Reply

