It is February, and that means that I’m only a couple handfuls of days away from being a quarter of a century old.

I remember being a little kid and thinking it would take F-O-R-E-V-E-R to become an “adult.” Looking around at my life of games and toys and school and dealings with peers who I just didn’t understand, and wondering how long would it take for me to be an adult like all the people I could relate to… Filling out those class assignments asking “where will you be in five years? Ten years? Twenty years?” and wondering how long until I became me, wondering when I could shed my childhood and adolescence like a dry old snakeskin, and leave it in the grass.

It happened quicker than I thought, and looking back, I realize I “grew up” a long time ago.

I don’t know that I was ever a child.

And I’m happy with that.

6 thoughts on “quarter of a century (almost)

  1. I hope you have a very, very happy birthday in several days!

    And I hear you about not really ever being a child (at least like other children . . .). I’m still waiting to feel like an “adult,” though. Somehow, in the same way I wasn’t a kid like other kids, I don’t think I’m ever going to be a grown-up like other grown-ups.

    Lovely reflective post, Heather. =]

    1. I’m with you on that “not being a grown-up like other grown-ups”… I’m waaaayy too goofy to be the serious, responsible, adult…

      And again: thanks for the birthday wishes. 🙂

       

  2. I completely understand the “not being a child” thing, because I often feel the same way. HAPPY SOON TO BE BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!

    1. I never thought about it like that…

      All it takes is persistence. 🙂 And a little hard work. 🙂 And a little courage. 🙂

      Thanks for the birthday wishes! 🙂  

Leave a Reply

