Mckenzie, this is for you! I present, some of my Bad Teenage Poetry (complete with commentary in italics):

The Attic

Dark, mysterious
Unknown depths.
Lurking figures, old as time.
The threshold, old,
Cobwebs clutter.
Nature has reclaimed this room,
Calling it back
To the past,
When times were young.
The chilly air,
Stagnant and old,
Holds the air of time ago.
Voices here,
Voices there,
Voices you hear,
Voices of the past;
Calling, beckoning
For you to come in,
Back to the time of long ago.
You take a step,
But you stop.
And as you turn to go,
You hear a voice.
You turn around,
But no one is there.

(Ooooooooo! I’m so spoooooooky! And past times are like… past. Wow. That’s deeeep.)

Raven

Black, silent as the night
As it drops its velvet curtain;
Winging across the sky,
Mystery.
Arcane whispers on the wind
Floating silently away
Like the black satin ribbon of the Night.
A caw, not melodious by far,
But a melody in itself.
Then a leap;
And a spread of feathers;
It wings away into the night,
Against the silvery moon,
Upon the dark horizon.
Dawn has come, and as the
Dark cloak of Lady Night is shed,
The Raven slips away
To its place of silent solitude.

(I *heart* you, Edgar Allan Poe. And I love your bird.)

Stay tuned for more Bad Teenage Poetry!

(The scary part is, I have BOOKS of this stuff. I was such a little freak.)

6 thoughts on “bad teenage poetry, part the 1st

  1. I like the lexical groups (or whatnot . . . vocabulary of darkness and mystery) that you used! You had a great feel for the gothic/horror genre, even back then.

    And I really like the ring of the phrases “arcane whispers” and “place of silent solitude.”

    Hee hee, thanks for sharing. I’ll see if I can dig up some of my old poetry, too . . .

  2. I agree with, Erin. I think, even then, you had a hand for the spooky. I don’t think these poems are as bad as you do. ๐Ÿ™‚ Our own worst critics!

  3. Aw, Heather, these are really nice! I like them! I think your imagery is startlingly vivid and wonderful, and even if you think it’s overly dramatic… well, allow me to respectfully disagree :D!

    1. Looking over it all again, I do suppose I was “showing my colors,” wasn’t I? Funny. I picked a few of the poems that rang the truest, and they all deal with these sorts of themes. Most of the poetry in my notebooks though, were about “light” subjects: flowers, spring, happiness, etc, and oddly, none of them seem to shine like these.

      Huh.

      I guess I was just a closet freak! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜€

      Thanks for the compliments, y’all: makes me proud. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Your poetry is so good! The imagery is vivid and the words are strong. I loevd reading it. See how many other people liked it as well? I promise, your writing is great ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

