For the first time since I began writing, I’m having serious logic issues.

Got the revisions back on “Requiem” from my editor, and apparently, I missed a HUGE conflict of logic pretty early on in the story. So huge, in fact, that if I don’t fix it, it will sink the entire rest of the tale.

Bummer, huh?

I felt really chagrined when I received the email, because I am usually very good about my logic. I hate reading stories that don’t make sense, and so I try very hard to check, double-check, and triple-check everything to make certain it fits. Events and characters in my stories must not only “feel” right, they must “be” right.

My editor was extremelly nice about it; she said it sometimes happens when you’re too close to the work to see it clearly.

That may be true, but upon looking back, I actually think I got a little lazy and it turned around to bite me in the a$$. After I wrote “Requiem,” I didn’t really check everything. Through subsequent rounds of revisions, including these latest, I was skimming. I knew the work, I knew what happened, and so I focused on the technical nitpickies; fixing spaces, paragraphs, sentence structure.

Didn’t even occur to me to cross-check my logic.

Cocky little runt was I. *snerk*

Thankfully, it is fixable. And thankfully, I’ve got ideas on how to fix it.

And thankfully, so thankfully, we caught it before it went to print!

2 thoughts on “logic

Leave a Reply

