I have none.

Seriously.

I’m working on the rewrite of “Crown of Thorns,” and literally pulling my hair out over it.  When will I be doneWhy am I having trouble thinking?  Why aren’t my characters being total blabbermouths?  Can’t I work on something quicker?  Does this really have to be this long??

And to top it off, today I am questioning the concept of being “done” with a work.  Someone said a novel was like writing a life.  I thought, Well, then, are you done ONLY when they die? And subsequently, Does this mean I’ll be writing this fricken’ book forever???

In writing short stories, you are finished when the conflict is solved.  Obviously this holds true for a novel to some extent, but if that was the only factor, we wouldn’t have novels.  (We’d have short stories.)

And, how do you “write a life” and make it exciting?  I don’t know about you, but there are portions of my life that, if someone were watching it on T.V., they’d fast forward DAYS at a TIME just to skip the boredom.  (Or they’d go grab a couple of sharpened #2 pencils.  I’m not boring enough to warrant dull ones…)

I want this thing done now.  I want to understand what the Hell I’m failing at to make my word-count decent (40k?  Pretty pretty please with lots of sugar? [I’m currently at 23k]).  I want to be able to read through my manuscript and not second-guess myself.  I want to be able to see where I need to add detail/plot/character development/beans/elephants/etcetera.  I want to have the confidence to stay away from the delete button.  I want to understand the difference between “essential story/essential detail” in short stories and in novels.

But mostly?

I want to have patience with myself.

3 thoughts on “writing patience

  1. Hahaha, beans/elephants ^___^

    I understand your frustration! (!!!) I’m almost glad to have “finished” my most recent project, so that I don’t have to be contending with this sort of madness right now . . . but (hopefully? should one hope for that?) it won’t be long before I’m back in the midst of the hair-pulling, teeth-grinding, brain-wracking, self-doubting, and generally aggravating (but exhilarating) writing process.

    As far as a novel goes, it’s over when all the major conflicts have been reasonably resolved (unless you’re writing a “literary” work in which the rules of plotting get thrown out the window). I don’t agree that writing a novel is like writing a life. It might be like writing part of a life, or like making what you’re writing about SEEM like real life, but one needn’t make it an ENTIRE life. (And very few novels end with the characters’ death.)

    I hope somehow things get a lot simpler for you with your story soon! Courage and luck to you!

  2. Quote: “…unless you’re writing a “literary” work in which the rules of plotting get thrown out the window.”

    HAHA! I love it. Someone who shares my opinion! 😀

    Thanks for the good wishes, guys. I ended up not writing last night, but today I feel better, and in between reminding myself to take it one little bit at a time, I’m thinking I might try my hand at a bit of it this evening.

    Thanks, as always, for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

