Point #1: I think I’m going to have to give up short story writing for a while while I tackle this monster.  Novel writing utilizes such different parts of my brain… it’s like learning how to think all over again from scratch.

The sad part is, I think I used to think like this, before I started writing short stories.

*sigh*

Point #2: I’m thinking also that I’m just going to write and see what happens.  No goal-length of 40k or 50k or 60k that will make me feel like a total writerly failure if I don’t make it.  Just, write, and when the story’s done, it’s done, and beautiful to boot.

Even if it turns out as a novella, I can still see about getting it epubbed, then everyone can read it, and maybe I’ll end up making myself a niche market with novellas?

Point #3: I had it a minute ago….

3 thoughts on “as i understand it more

  1. I know how to write a novel, all about structure and scene building and whatnot, but lately that all seems to fall apart when I try to put an idea on paper. (Ha ha, or maybe it’s that I shun re-writes? Alas. =p)

    In any case, again, I hope this goes well for you.

    I know writing itself is a fairly solitary process, but if there’s anything you need other people to help with along the way, bouncing ideas or whatnot, I’d be glad to help =]

  2. I’m sure it will end out beautiful, like you said, Heather. And you’re right, novel writing vs. short story writing is a very different process, but both are equal in their work-effort, I think.

  3. Heck yeah, McKenzie. I finished “chapter one” a day or so ago and felt like I (personally, not prose-wise) was suffering from sensory overload from all the “looking around.” In shorts, you don’t look around. You weigh your words to get the most bang for your buck. In this, there’s so freakin much to write about….

    But, I suppose that’s a good thing, lol.

    Thanks for the good wishes, guys. 🙂

Leave a Reply

