Brr.  It’s getting cold out there.

In a way, I look forward to it; it’s the end of the year, in terms of farming, it’s a slow time, which means I have more time to write, more time to curl up on the couch with a cup of coffee or tea and a fire in the furnace, more time for creative stuff.

Of course, there are things I don’t like about the winter season.  The bombardment of advertising for Christmas shopping, for one.  And long-johns.  Long-johns, while excellent at keeping a body warm in the freezing temps, bug me.  They never fit “right,” and I hate the loss of mobility spawned by the fact that jeans are also never quite big enough to handle the extra under-layer.

But, so long as I’ve got a notepad, ideas, a cup of something warm, and a fire in the furnace, I’m happy.

How about you?  What things do you need to survive the winter season?

Leave a Reply

