So, I feel like I hit a little bit of a brick wall.

I’ve decided that until I get a more solid idea of where “Hattie Locke” is going, it’s being put on the back burner.  I’ve got other things to work on in the meantime.

The next story in my dark YA serial, “Dream-Teller,” is starting to take off, and I think, that if I can get a few good hours in on it, I could have it written in about a week or so.  I think it’s going to be a longer story than the others, but that’ll be alright.  I want to move into the longer range of tales, more around 15k instead of my usual flash fiction and 3-5k tales.  If “Dream-Teller” wants to be longer, I’m excited for it.

Now, I have a question.

With as “plugged in” as our teenage generation is (and becoming more so every day), don’t you think ebooks for YA readers would be a potentially lucrative market? 

I work in a library during the week, and contrary to popular belief, teens do read.  Some of them read a lot, and others read quite a bit on the computer.  Almost all of them have some kind of cell phone, laptop, or wireless gizmo.  If the marketing could be done to catch their interest, do you think they might just pick up an ebook?

I’m inclined to think they would. 

Naturally, (as was pointed out to me yesterday) the technology isn’t quite there at this time; ebooks and ebook software isn’t being used widely in schools.  It isn’t (yet) in the mainstream consciousness as a viable option for reading (although Amazon’s Kindle is certainly helping that!).  Therefore, the obvious hurdle I see is that there’d have to be a learning curve going on, some form of education about ebooks geared toward teens, for them to pick one up.

But once they learned, I am inclined to think they’d take to it like ducks to water.

The biggest reading complaint I hear from teens is that they don’t have enough time.  With sports, band practices, hefty homework levels (and I never would have believed it, but I had more homework in high school than in college), and other extracurricular activities, a lot of them don’t have time to go to the library and pick up a book.  And if they do manage to get into the library, they don’t have time to read the book they select. 

Since they have their cell phones and gizmos with them all the time, and since ebooks are relatively easy to purchase, download, and read, I think that if we give teens a way to pursue reading in a format they have easy access to (even with all their other things they have going on), we might just have an audience.

So.  What do you think?

3 thoughts on “resting (and ebook musings)

  1. Hi Heather! I just finished reading ‘Darkness Cornered’ and loved it. I will have a review on my blog in the next couple of hours.

    The YA e-book sounds like a great idea. Teenagers are using computers so much these days that they would be inclined to open up an e-book between chatting and checking emails. I know from my own experience that e-books are a good way of getting books fast. They are also cheaper.

    I think the proper kind of advertising is needed though to make sure people get into the idea of e-books. For example I would buy an e-book copy of a book if it was released a few days earlier than the paper copy.

  2. Thank you for your beautiful review, Amber. You made me blush! 😀

    That’s kind of what I was thinking; they’re so “plugged in” these days that they might really enjoy an electronic book. Also, writing short stories and short novels, that might even draw those who wouldn’t normally read. But, I don’t know. It’s just an idea, and I’m willing to give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

