So, last night I had to take my husband to the ER to remove a thorn from his leg when I couldn’t dig it out (it kept working itself in deeper).  The darn thing was almost a full inch long!  I’m glad we went though; I was afraid to do much more digging without professional knowledge.

I’m a little bummed because the weather reports said this week was supposed to be nice, but it’s turning out to be windy, chilly, and overcast.  I’ve still been riding my bike the seven miles into work every day, but I’ve been managing to get rides back every day too, hehe.  I don’t think I’ve ever had so many people (relatives and non-relations, even non-acquaintances!) ask if I need a lift before.  It’s quite amusing.  Especially the confuzzled looks they give when they realize I truly am a glutton for punishment and am putting myself through this two-wheeled Hell because I want to be in better shape.

Amusing indeed.

I read a really cool book yesterday called “Library Lion” by Knudsen.  Wonderful, wonderful book, especially the illustraions (by Hawkes).  They really make the text come alive.

My teen novel is coming along.  Slowly.  I realized I need more character development/setting advancement in chapter seven, but as of yesterday afternoon, all my characters want to talk about is stuff in chapter eight!  Eesh, guys, I thought we had a plan?

The story of my life.  [insert eye-rolling here]

I am looking forward to the Youth Writer’s Conference in May.  I guess I get to play teacher for an hour or two, and then I get to help instruct in workshop setting.  I’m a little nervous about the workshop — it’s difficult to critique in a way that’s constructive, without sounding one-uppish and snide.  I hope I do alright.  But I do get to come up with a writing activity for the kids, and I’m going to take promo materials to hand out as well.  I guess everyone is really excited to have me attend, too. 🙂

I also would like to apologize to all my buddies at Drollerie and Echelon; I have not been very active on the discussion loops lately because work and farm stuff and writing have been eating up my time, but I promise I haven’t forgotten about you all!

And that goes for everyone here in the Blog-o-sphere; I haven’t been posting with any real regularity, but I will again soon.  Pinkie-swear.

In other news, “The Dead walk the Eaaaa-rth!”  (Thanks to Tim Burton)

Leave a Reply

